Little Red Velvet Cupcake and the Big Bad Wolf

Standard

Big Bad and Red

What You’ll Need: adapted from here

1 ½ cups (190gr) all-purpose flour

1 cups (200gr) sugar

1 tablespoon natural unsweetened cocoa powder

¼ teaspoon salt

1 large egg, at room temperature

1/2 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup buttermilk, at room temperature

1 tablespoon red food coloring (I only had yellow and neon food coloring. So I mixed yellow, a drop of magenta, and a few drops of purple).

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon white distilled vinegar

For the Frosting: adapted from here

1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks), softened

3½ cups confectioners sugar

½ cup cocoa powder

½ teaspoon table salt

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

4 tablespoons heavy cream

Let’s Get Baking

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line your pans with cupcake liners.

Whisk together flour, sugar, cocoa and salt. Set aside until needed.

In a large mixing bowl, beat together egg, vegetable oil, red food coloring, buttermilk, and vanilla extract until well combined. Add your flour in thirds and mixing until they are all well combined.

In small bowl, mix together vinegar and baking soda. Mix until the mixture is bubbling before adding it to the batter and mixing well.

Then fill your liners until 2/3 full and bake them for about 18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean from your cupcake.

For the Frosting

Cream butter for a few minutes in a mixer with the paddle attachment on medium speed. Turn off the mixer.

Sift 3 cups powdered sugar and cocoa into the mixing bowl. Turn your mixer on the lowest speed (so the dry ingredients do not blow everywhere) until the sugar and cocoa are absorbed by the butter.

Increase mixer speed to medium and add vanilla extract, salt, and milk/cream and beat for 3 minutes. Add more sugar for stiffer consistency and milk for thinner if needed.

Little Red Riding Hood:

This one was a cupcake that I had been planning since the day I thought of my ideas. Also it feels like a bit of an homage to my blog, in a sense. I also love red velvet, it’s one of my all time favorite cupcake flavors. This can be seen as any form of Red Riding Hood that you can imagine. I have just watched the OUAT finale and I was jokingly calling this the Where’s Ruby/Red cupcake.

Red was one of my favorite characters of the show. She was also Red Riding Hood and the Wolf, which I thought was a cool concept. The red velvet is an obvious choice and the chocolate butter cream was mostly because I was craving chocolate. It also reminded me of her hair and more.

I added wolf ears to one cupcake, using the smallest leaf cutout. Leave a comment below, if you make these or if you like red velvet as much as me.. I make a new cupcake every other Monday (Yes I know it’s Wednesday, still coming down from the post finals crash and organizing my room at home). Hope you enjoy making these or eating these!

Leave a Reply

